SHAPE platform announces 2019 list of artists

enter image description here

Insomnia is one of 16 festivals that take part in the Creative Europe-supported SHAPE platform for innovative music and audiovisual art. The list of artists for 2019 have just been announced, and it includes the three Nordic artists that were selected by Insomnia this year: Astrid Sonne (DK), JESSE (FI) and Maria W Horn (SE). Check them out by clicking the links.

The artist selection for the platform’s fifth year traditionally places a number of audiovisual projects and sound artists alongside musical acts that range from post-grime and techno to free improvisation and acousmatic music.

The fifth year’s roster of SHAPE continues to demonstrate a kind of eclecticism that is clearly an outcome of all the 16 diverse festivals selecting artists and projects together – You may find French industrial techno DJ and Rinse FM host AZF sharing the stage with Portuguese electro-acoustic music composer Jonathan Uliel Saldanha or Latvian “cosmic analog synthesizer music” artist Marta SmiLga brushing shoulders with audiovisual artist and creator of participatory installations Sally Golding or artist Michela Pelusio, whose work has been described as “quantum physics meets audiovisual experimentation”.

A deliberate desire to detect streams of fresh ideas and unexpected influences beyond genre categories has influenced the choices of SHAPE’s curators. Interesting musical collisions and fusions are encouraged: Hungarian drummer Balázs Pándi is experienced in anything between dub, breakcore, free improvisation, noise, grindcore and jazz, whereas Swedish electronic music composer Maria W. Horn is oscillating between minimalist structures and piercing power electronics utilizing both digital and analog synthesis as well as acoustic instruments, and Perrine en Morceaux blends French pop music with electro-acoustic practices and other elements from the world of avant-garde music. Cellist Lucy Railton uses her experience as performer of post-war avant-garde music, including works of Xenakis, to create her own kind of electro-acoustic, minimalistic but diverse music. Similarly, the trio Plug, led by Nicolas Crosse, bassist of Ensemble Intercontemporain, melds the members’ knowledge of contemporary classical music with influences from rock music, drone and experimental electronics. French bagpipe player Erwan Keravec not only lends his talent as an instrumentalist to performances of works by contemporary composers, but is also one of the very few players of this instrument in the field of radical free improvisation.

Improvisation is a key concept also in the music of guitarist Nina Garcia, who, with her noise rock oriented solo project Mariachi explores the limits of her instrument, or Katharina Ernst, a multidisciplinary artist and drummer, experienced in the vital free improvisation scene of Vienna, who works more in a rhythm-based and electro- acoustic mode within her solo project “Extrametric”, based on drum exercises requiring deep concentration to propel separated elements forward into richly patterned grooves. Kikimore, a group of six female researchers of sound and analogue electronics, is held together not only by their interest in improvising with electronic instruments, but, in their own words, also “raw sound, noise and the smell of solder”.

Projects, such as Bear Bones Lay Low a.k.a. Ernesto González, born in Venezuela and residing in Belgium, or WIDT, a duo of sisters Antonina Nowacka and Bogumiła Piotrowska from Poland, demonstrate an interest in highly psychedelic musical – in the latter case, also visual – experiences. WIDT participate in SHAPE with a new collaboration – they will be joined onstage by Christoph de Babalon, an acclaimed German DJ and producer whose late 90s album “If You’re Into It, I’m Out of It” is counted among the classics of experimental club records of that period.

Classic labels of experimental electronic music are also represented by minimalist Robert Curgenven, who is best known for his works on LINE, and patten, the genre-swapping project, signed to Warp Records, also known for immersive audiovisual shows.

Continuing the path started in 2017, the new artist list of SHAPE puts a large emphasis also on seeking out interesting DJs – this year SHAPE welcomes Spanish- born and Brussels-based DJ Clara!, known for her innovative investigations into the reggaeton genre, Crystallmess, whose mixes may oscillate between, for instance, dreamy ambient parts and subtle but surprising shifts to French rap, and Sentimental Rave – a self-taught DJ, producer and photographer, whose sets are based in her equal love of rave, gabber and experimental music.

Full list of SHAPE artists for 2019

Arash Azadi (IR/AM)
Astrid Sonne (DK)
Avsluta (UK)
Balázs Pándi (HU)
Bamao Yende (FR)
Bear Bones Lay Low (BE) Betty (FR)
Chaines (UK)
Clara! (BE)
Committee (HU/NL) Crystallmess (FR)
Erwan Keravec (FR)
Hatis Noit (UK)
Jessica Ekomane (FR/DE)
Jonathan Uliel Saldanha (PT)
Katharina Ernst (AT)
Kikimore (SI)
Lucy Railton (UK)
Lutto Lento (PL)
Lyra Pramuk (DE)
Maria W Horn (SE)
Marta SmiLga (LV)
Myako (FR)
Michela Pelusio (GR/IT)
Nina Garcia/Mariachi (FR)
Obsequies (BE)
Oceanic (NL)
Od Bongo (FR/BE)
patten (UK)
Peach (UK)
Perrine en Morceaux (FR)

Plug (FR)
Resina (PL)
rkss (UK)
Robert Curgenven (IE)
Sally Golding (UK)
Schanell (DE)
Schtum (AT)
Sentimental Rave (FR)
Soho Rezanejad (DK)
Tim Shaw (UK)
Violet (PT)
Volition Immanent/ Parrish Smith (NL)
WIDT & Christoph De Babalon (DE/PL)

Previous Article All Articles Next Article