Elina Waage Mikalsen, Schacke and Oli XL unveiled as part of SHAPE 2020

The Creative Europe-supported SHAPE platform for innovative music and audiovisual art is announcing its 2020 list of artists. The artist selection for the platform’s 6th year traditionally places a number of audiovisual projects and sound artists alongside musical acts that range from club music and forward-thinking media art to free improvisation and spatial music.

Insomnia festival has nominated the Norwegian experimental vocalist and sound artist Elina Waage Mikalsen, techno producer and DJ Schacke, who initially rose to fame as a pioneer of the Copenhagen noise and industrial scene, and Stockholm’s Oli XL, producer, DJ, visual artist, and head of the W-I label, known for his novel club sounds with pop sensibilities.

The 6th year’s roster of SHAPE continues to demonstrate an eclecticism that is clearly an outcome of all the 16 diverse festivals selecting artists and projects together. Drawing on the knowledge of their respective scenes as well as the vast options provided by the artist submissions from the platform’s open call, each festival proposed acts that were subsequently subject to collective voting. Thus, even though the 48-artist list is a collective decision, artists from this roster can be traced back to festivals that initially proposed them for participation in SHAPE.

You can view the whole roster of 48 emerging artists here:

Previous Article All Articles Next Article